Household Notebook – Family Mission Statement

Household Notebook Banner

This week I worked on our Family Mission Statement. I feel that this is a very important part of your Household Notebook because it helps to focus your family priorities. When you have a valid family mission statement that applies to everyone, you are all able to focus and work together better.

Simple Mom had two great posts in July on creating a family mission statement. She walks you through the process step by step and really does make it as easy as possible for you. Here is the link to her Create a Family Mission Statement post and the link to her Share Your Family Mission Statement Post. I highly recommend both of these posts.

Once you have your family mission statement completed, I would put it inside of a page protector and have it at the very front of your Household Notebook. This way you can be reminded to what is important to your family every time you open your Household Notebook. This family mission statement will also help you when we get to the section on goals.

Here is the Family Mission Statement we created:

As a family, we will:

  • Cultivate a deep relationship with each other.
  • Work together to ensure that each family member can achieve their full potential.
  • Take care of our health.
  • Be generous with our knowledge and resources to help those less fortunate then us.
  • Be lifelong learners.
  • Live simply.
  • Encourage truth, honesty, kindness and independence.

This is the first time I’ve created a family mission statement, so it may get tweaked a little in the coming months, but I have to admit that it feels good to finally have this in writing.

What about you? Have you created a family mission statement? If not, start working on it today. And if you do have one, pull it out and review it. I plan to review ours annually.

You can find links to all the articles I’ve written on Household Notebooks on my original post. Be sure to come back next Tuesday when I’ll talk about calendars and scheduling.

Did you get your Contacts updated and into your notebook? If so, let me know in the comments. And if you posted about it on your blog, be sure to include a link to your post. I’d love to see how everyone else is progressing with this project.

4 responses to “Household Notebook – Family Mission Statement

  1. I love the idea of a mission statement! I’m working on my HMB as we speak–I’m almost there. Going to check out your posts about yours….

  2. What a great idea!! Love that tackle:-)

  3. Pingback: Household Notebook – Family Mission Statement « Never Quite Perfect | Hipacopa

  4. Pingback: My Command Center « Never Quite Perfect

Leave a Reply

