Organizing Household Manuals

WFMW

During the time that we’ve lived in our house we have done a lot of home improvement projects. That has included replacing various household appliances and other items with use and care guides or manuals. To keep these guides organized I have kept them all in one of those plastic accordian file folders. Here are some of the items that I keep in this folder:

  • All manuals for items that will be sold with the house (refrigerator, stove, water heater, etc)
  • Warranty information for roof shingles
  • Paint color cards for all the walls we painted
  • Counter top warranty information
  • Home Improvement folder with all receipts and information for all projects we have completed

When we go to settlement on our house next month I will pass this whole folder on to the new owners. Well, except for the receipts. Those will be kept for our records. I’m sure that they will be glad to get all of the manuals and so forth. I know that we didn’t get anything from the people we bought the house from. Of course I really don’t think they did any improvements to the house.

I’ve already setup a new folder for the new house. We really shouldn’t have to do much when we move in,  but you never know. Plus I like to be prepared. At the very least we will do some painting and I will need to keep the paint color cards in there. And this folder is a great companion to your Household Notebook.

For more great tips, head over to Works For Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family. This week the theme is organization tips. I’m hoping to pick up some great new organization tips over there this week.

<a href="http://www.stumbleupon.com/submit?url=&title=”&gt;

2 responses to “Organizing Household Manuals

  1. We just sold our house and are tracing down roof warranty info, etc. I totally wish we’d thought of this tip. What a great idea!

  2. THANK YOU!! We have a kitchen drawer devoted to manuals. My husband started this before I met him, and we’ve just kept doing it since. I’m sure that drawer has completely useless manuals in it now, and I could really use the space! Now all I have to do is go through it! THANK YOU! 🙂

Leave a Reply

