Internet, How I’ve Missed You

So much has been happening for me over the last two weeks. Since we had no internet, posting was very difficult for me. Thank goodness we finally got our internet hooked up this weekend. Now I just need to get myself back to my old posting schedule, but first I wanted to at least mention some of the things that have been going on around here.

As I previously mentioned, we moved into our new house 2 weeks ago. We absolutely love it. The neighborhood is nice and quiet and so far all of the neighbors we’ve met have been friendly. I really think that it’s going to be a great neighborhood to raise our daughter in. Our money is a little tighter now and we’ll have to make some sacrifices, but hubby and I both think it is well worth it. This is the house that we plan to stay in for the next 30 years or so, so we need to make it work for us.

Moving is not a fun task and I have no desire to do it again anytime soon. I feel for all the military families out there that move every couple years. I so could not handle that. We have a good deal of our stuff unpacked, but there is still a nice sized pile of boxes in the family room downstairs. There is also a corner of my kitchen that we won’t even talk about. Yikes! I need to get on that one at least.

It has been nice to finally get back to regular shopping and meal planning. Our stockpile is building back up and I even have a freezer now so I can stock up on perishables when they are on sale. For the last two weeks I have been making the rounds of the local grocery stores picking up the sale items and getting us stocked up. Our freezer has been filling up nicely and I already need some more shelving in the basement. I had budgeted for this restocking extravaganza and that budget is now just about gone. So now I plan to switch to a more normal shopping schedule of once a week at most.

I was very happy to discover a Shop Rite that isn’t too far from our house. I love their sale prices and think this is where I will be doing the bulk of my grocery shopping. The only other grocery store that is close is Giant and I was not happy with them when I stopped there Sunday. They had no manned registers open, just the self checkouts and they didn’t even have anyone out to help with the self checkouts. So when it wouldn’t accept my free milk catalina there was no one there to help me. I had just left the stuff on the belt and was headed out the door when one of the employees that was just coming in saw me. She tried to help and couldn’t so she went and got someone out of the office. They finally took care of it, but I have no plans to go back there. They will need to have a VERY good sale to get me back in the door. It’s ridiculous to not have anyone up front at the registers. What kind of store does that?

We have also restarted family game night. It’s so nice having that to look forward to every other Friday. I had really missed having that time with my family. I’ve even been debating doing a family dinner or breakfast on the weekends that we don’t have family game night. We’ll have to see how that works out though.

All in all, I feel like things are working out the way they should. It feels good to be settling in and finding our new normal.

One response to “Internet, How I’ve Missed You

  1. What an exciting time for you and your family. I’m glad to hear that things are finally starting to settle down for you!

Leave a Reply

