Eating From the Pantry in January

In January Money Saving Mom and Life As Mom are hosting an Eating From The Pantry Challenge. This is very timely for me as I’ve been looking at all the food I have stocked up and thinking that I need to start using it up. So starting January 1st I will be joining their challenge. I feel like this is a great time for me to use up some extra food and save some money. The money saved will be used to help cover some of my lost wages from December. This way we won’t have to tap our savings to meet our budget for January.
Here are my more specific goals for January’s challenge:
  1. Spend $120.00 or less on food. My normal household budget is $80.00 a week so this is cutting my budget a little over half. I think this completely doable.
  2. Only buy dairy and produce. We have so much food in this house that I should not need to buy anything else.
  3. Only 3 trips to the grocery store in January. I’m going to plan for bi-weekly shopping instead of my weekly run. I also added an extra trip in there just in case. With a toddler in the house you don’t want to run out of dairy.
  4. Dining out comes out of the allocated budget. Or we can take the funds from our spending money. Hubby and I do like to eat out a couple times a month so I know we would never make it a whole month without eating out at all.

That’s it. I’m keeping this fairly easy on myself since I don’t want to set myself up for failure. We need to use up some of the extra food we have around here though. So this week I will go check out our pantry, the storage shelves in the basement and the freezer to start getting some meal ideas. With the amount of food we have this should be an easy challenge for me. Now we just have to see how well I can do. I think the biggest challenge for me will be in not buying more food just because it is on sale at an excellent price.

I’ll be posting weekly updates on our progress, so come back every Monday to see how we’re doing.

To find links to other posts by participants in this challenge, head over to Money Saving Mom.

9 responses to “Eating From the Pantry in January

  1. Good luck with your goals!

  2. Good luck with the challenge! I’m all ready to dive in starting tomorrow! Happy New Year!

  3. I think your goals are doable. This could be fun. Good luck.

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « Never Quite Perfect

  5. Pingback: Blog Goals for 2010 « Never Quite Perfect

  6. Pingback: Food Storage Organization Project « Never Quite Perfect

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan & Eating From the Pantry Update « Never Quite Perfect

  8. Pingback: Never Quite Perfect

  9. Pingback: Time to Restock the Cupboards « Never Quite Perfect

Leave a Reply

