Necklace and Earring Storage Ideas

This week’s Works For Me Wednesday is a Backwards theme. That means we get to ask a question and leave it up to our readers to provide possible solutions. Here is my dilemma:

I love jewelry and as a result have a lot of it. Right now I am trying to figure out a way to store all of my dangle earrings and necklaces so that I can easily see what I have and not have to dig around and wind up with tangled jewelry. I have spent way too much time in the last year untangling necklaces. This year I hope to avoid that task. I have a jewelry box and it is beyond full. So I need to come up with something for all of the overflow. Our bedroom is not particularly large so I need something that won’t take up a lot of space. Right now I’m thinking something that would mount on the wall. I prefer for it to look nice and not cost a lot. Any suggestions?

For more Works For Me Wednesday, head over to We Are That Family.

5 responses to “Necklace and Earring Storage Ideas

  1. I’m going to come back and see the answers you get to this, have you thought about making something out of a large frame and window screen?

  2. I did what Michelle suggested. I took a few frames, removed the glass, and added plastic mesh. Then I added some ribbon at the top to hang them from. They’re really cute hanging above my dresser, and it’s easy to pick earrings.

  3. My friend just blogged on this: http://sakson.blogspot.com/2009/12/my-new-creation.html. I thought her solution was very creative.

  4. Hey Buffie – By far, my favorite thing I did was with my necklaces. I used an old towel bar and hung it in my closet, I wrapped fabric around the bar and I hang my necklaces there. You do have to clasp and unclasp them each time you wear one which is a minor inconvenience for being able to see all of them at once. The really long necklaces I just drape over the bar. Feels great to get organized! Good luck!

  5. I blogged about my solution here:
    http://tinyurl.com/ycucsat

    Here’s also a pretty clever version using frame and screen material: http://www.thepurplepea.net/2009/07/how-to-make-frame-jewelry-holder.html

Leave a Reply

