Electronic Organization

For the last few months my life has felt completely disorganized. I have the tools and the knowledge to get and stay organized, but I just haven’t been doing it. My old systems just weren’t working for me anymore and I didn’t have the energy to setup new ones. Add to that the piles of paper that seem to be accumulating in my house and you have a great recipe for discontent. The chaos of all the paper and disorganization is driving me crazy. It has reached a point where I HAVE to do something about.

Since paper seems to be my biggest nemesis at the moment I am starting off by working on eliminating all the paper from my life that I possibly can. Now for someone like myself who likes to keep lists and be a little overly organized, that can be a little difficult. In the past I have tried various electronic systems for organization and they just haven’t worked for me.

My books on Goodreads – I finally went and input the books on/in my nightstand into a GoodReads bookshelf. I also added some of the books that I have recently read. Until I started keying the books in, I didn’t realize just how many books I have waiting for me to read them. Yikes!

I also love that I can use the free GoodReads app to access my bookshelf on my iPhone. This should hopefully help me to not buy books that I already have in the future. I also created a special wanted bookshelf so I can also see the list of books I want while I’m out and about. Not that I need to bring any more books home.

My Evernote Recipe Notebook – Anyone that loves to cook and regularly surfs the internet knows that it is easy to accumulate a lot of recipes that you want to try. Printing the recipes out just creates more clutter in my house and I don’t want that. Really, there is no reason for me to print the actual recipe out until I’m ready to try it. To track all of these recipes I have created an Evernote Notebook just for my recipes. I love that I can clip the recipes directly from the web site and it will create a page in my notebook, along with pictures if applicable. I have the recipes tagged to help me find the recipes I want when I want them and the pages themselves link back to the original site where I got the recipe. My notebook has been set to public to feel free to check it out, but be warned that it could easily result in more recipes being added to your own to try list.

Evernote also has a free iPhone app that I love. Using this app I am able to access my recipes (and my other notes) so that I can reference them while I’m away from the computer. This comes in handy when I’m at the grocery store and know I want to make something, but can’t remember the ingredients I need.

I have several more ideas for using Evernote to get rid of my paper clutter and get organized. As I try them out I will post on how they are working for me. So far I love Evernote and see me using it a lot in the future.

Do you use Evernote or any other electronic systems to stay organized? If so I’d love to know what’s working for you.

Leave a Reply

